Tags

,

Wednesday night many who loved and respected Solomon joined in the music at The Grand Night Club in San Francisco, bringing a sold-out crowd together for a benefit party. All proceeds including, door, bar, and a silent auction will go to The Nicole and Solomon Fund. Nicole was injured in Thailand a month ago in the accident that took Solomon’s life. She has just had back surgery, and is not supposed to be on her feet for six to eight weeks.

It was a full-out Solomon Party!  800 tickets were sold and the line – at one point – was 2 blocks long. Grief flowed into joy, which then seemed to infect the room, as the music played and took us on into the stream of music he inspired.

I stayed on the left side balcony above the dance floor near Nicole. She spent the evening greeting many, many of her friends and Solomon’s. There she sat, glowing, meeting everyone with strength and love. Solomon would be so proud of her! She stayed at the party until 1:00 AM.

Nicole at the Grand

Hugo Gamboa, one of the owners of The Grand posted to facebook: “I have to admit last nights benefit for Solomon and Nicole was the best event I’ve ever been a part of… So amazing to see so many of our SF nightlife friends and family together to honor Solomon & Nicole. We’ll miss him…”

Another club owner, who has put on city events for 2 decades, called it “the best party I’ve ever been to.”

Leila Burrows did a beautiful job of organizing every part of the evening. She writes to us: “I felt humbled in the presence of so much love. Such wonderful, beautiful people. And music. May there always be music. I miss Solomon every day. But I can see how his spirit is with us.”

Solomon’s brother, Ammon, opened the evening and had to coax the PA system into decent sound. I’ve been listening to Aretha, Stevie Wonder and Michael Jackson a lot lately, so I loved that he included one of my favorites by Aretha in the set – I Say A Little Prayer:

The moment I wake up
Before I put on my makeup
I say a little prayer for you
While combing my hair, now,
And wondering what dress to wear, now,          
I say a little prayer for you                                      
 
Forever, forever, you’ll stay in my heart
And I will love you
Forever, forever, we never will part
Oh, how I’ll love you….

 

Chris Clouse on guitar and mic, Ryan Lucero on drums and Dave Kim on violin played a great early set. Had the room up and dancing, followed by DJs Justin Hoffman, Don Lynch, Ean Golden and Mei Lwun, and Jazzy Jeff. Enjoy the photos!

Me and Chris Clouse

Chris, Ryan and Dave

Mei Lwun rocked it!

Jazzy Jeff, headliner!

