The month of August is here. That means UNTOLD, the new paperback publication from Monkfish Books, is on its way to bookstores. Publisher’s Weekly releases a good review on Monday August 9. From the review: The unorthodox devise [the prosimetrum – narrative with poems] becomes, as only poetry can, an illustrative window into early Islam and everyday Arabian life 1,400 years ago. Kahn points out that many of Muhammad’s reforms were unique for their time and benefited women

Caroline Casey will interview me on KPFA radio August 19 at 2 pm. I begin what my publisher calls, “the Bookstore Tour.” It would be wonderful to see familiar faces and meet my friends from cyberspace.

Book Passage in Corte Madera starts things off on Sunday, August 22 at 4pm.

Copperfields in Sebastapol is hosting me Tuesday, September 9 at 7pm.

Later on, October brings an evening at Books Inc. on Fourth Street in Berkeley on Tuesday, 7pm October 19; and Fields Bookstore on Polk Street in San Francisco 8pm on October 21. I’ll be in Seattle September 16-21, Denver on October 28, and North Carolina in November (see tab above that says: BOOKSTORE TOUR): New York and Portland in the spring. Info on those bookstores will follow. Thank you for your good will and hope to see you in book-book land.

Thanks for bearing with the blog billboard. I’ll return to articles of interest soon. ~

